top of page

Happy Hair Habits

Updated: Nov 23, 2022

Here I will be sharing why I tend to the length & health of my hair.

 

There have been three seasons of my life so far where you would have found me frolicking around with a breezy bob haircut. Perhaps one day I might make another spontaneous decision to chop it all off again, but until that distant day, I am tending to the longer locks I have now.

And with great length comes great responsibility.


What makes this present journey of hair care super fun, is the personal goals I've set:

  • reach lower derriere-length (imagine the braids)

  • achieve thicker, stronger hair shafts

  • nourish colour tone & radiance

In the moments where I am tempted to tie my hair up in a pony and introduce it to the scissors, I remember these goals that I have set out to first achieve. Hence, my longer hair is here to stay for a few more years, and that excites me!


Your hair goals might look different to mine, but ultimately healthy, happy hair is what we both want.


Which is where hair care steps in to achieve this. Over the years of coiffure growth, I have begun to view my hair as a natural crown that becomes more polished the more I look after it.


Having kempt hair is not simply the cherry-on-top of an outfit, to be considered as decoration.

It is the ingredient that, if forgotten or skimped on, can sabotage the entire cake.


I would rather attend an event in casual clothes with hair freshly finished, than to enter all dressed-up with a golden turd of a messy bun on my head from last night.

^ The impact of an aesthetically-pleasing hairdo, amiright?


There are many secrets of haircare that can be noted from some traditional Native American practices. For example, a gentle & sustainable technique to encourage long, strong locks, is to keep the hair braided. This places less strain on the roots (compared with trendy high ponytails), and protects from breakage as opposed to leaving it loose.


In this culture, as well as in many others, hair is seen as an extension of self:

A part of the body that reflects a part of the soul.


After all, a bad hair day reflects a whole lot more than just a bad hair day. For example, when my tank is running low on feminine energy or motivation, I am much less likely to put effort into my look for the day. But when a lady's heart is flourishing, she becomes more interested in investing energy to flourish outwardly. When you feel as fresh as a daisy, you look as fresh as a daisy, too.


Furthermore, nobody cares about your hair as you do. This even goes for the hair salon. After dealing with breakage from someone's mishandling brush-techniques, I've decided to take care of it myself and have become exclusive with whom to trust for the occasional hair appointment. Sometimes a simple trim or treatment is best left to the person who knows their hair best: you!


See your hair as an extension of self; as a crown of nature upon your head.

Ultimately, I care for my hair, for I am happy. Hair care leaves room for creativity, fun, and time for plenty reflection while brushing through it at the end of the day.


What are your thoughts? I would love to hear them.


With sweet joy & lemon zest,

Hannah Mia :)



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page