top of page

Mushroom Biltong

"How can you be South African and vegetarian?" is a common question I've been asked since I started my health journey.

"I could never be vegan because I love biltong too much!" is another infamous statement I know too well, and for a long time, this person was me!

Well, to all my honey bees who are interested in prioritising meat-free snacks that still satisfy and tingle with spice, this type of biltong is for you!


Button Mushroom Biltong

This has become one of my go-to quick fixes, especially for someone who has a salt-tooth.

My favourite fungus for the job is the Portabellini mushroom, as I find it to be the most tasty and juicy, however Button mushrooms work well too.



Portabellini Mushroom Biltong

You'll Need:

  • 1 punnet of small mushrooms ( portabellini/button )

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil

  • Your favourite spice ( I use Ina Paarman's Kitchen rosemary & olive seasoning )

  • An oven set to 180 º C and a baking tray

Step 1:

Wash or wipe each mushroom thoroughly to remove any dirt.


Step 2:

Sprinkle the olive oil onto the baking tray, spreading around the oil evenly.


Step 3:

Cut each mushroom into thin slices (quarters or fifths), and place them on the tray.


Step 4:

Sprinkle your spice over the top of the mushrooms until all are well seasoned.


Step 5:

Place the tray into the oven for 20 minutes until golden and crispy.


SAVOUR THE FLAVOUR!


With sweet joy & lemon zest,

Hannah Mia xo

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page