top of page

Hannah Banana Bread

Updated: Nov 23, 2022


Is lockdown even lockdown if it hasn't been spent baking a banana loaf at least once?


I have taken advantage of staying home all these weeks, by baking + baking + baking + baking. It fills me with the warm & fuzzies to lift a piping hot tray of fresh treats out of the oven for my family to enjoy. The only thing that hasn't been a joy, is the guilt I have felt each time I drop 2 cups of sugar & butter into the bowl. Even though my tastebuds thank me in the moment, my body sure does not! Too much sugar or fatty oils make us feel icky, and this is no surprise! So, without further adieu, I present the queen of banana breads. She's delicious in the moment, and she's nourishing in the after math. She's hosting a royal ball, & you're invited!


I N G R E D I E N T S

2 fresh eggs

3 ripe medium bananas mashed (1 cup, 225 g)

1/2 cup honey or maple syrup

1/3 cup melted coconut oil or virgin olive oil

1/4 cup milk of your personal choice or water - I used almond milk

1 tsp vanilla essence

1/2 tsp cinnamon (extra for some pizazz on top)

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda (NOT baking powder; they're not the same)

1 3/4 cups regular cake wheat flour (2 cups oat flour substitute)

optional: 1/2 cup mix-ins like chopped walnuts, pecan nuts, raisins, choc chips, banana slices, dried fruit... (my personal go-to is always pecan nuts!!)


R E C I P E
  1. Preheat your oven to 165 degrees Celsius & spray/grease a loaf tin

  2. Whisk the coconut oil + honey together in a bowl.

  3. Beat in the eggs until smoothish, followed by the mashed bananas and milk.

  4. Combine the vanilla, cinnamon, salt and baking soda, and whisk into the banana mixture.

  5. Gradually pour the flour into the mixture too (you can use a tablespoon for portions). A couple of sneaky lumps are alright! If you have some mix-ins you'd like to add, go ahead now and fold those babies in.

  6. Spoon out the batter into your greased loaf tin, and just for extra aesthetic, lightly sprinkle over some cinnamon and create a zig-zag pattern with the tip of a knife.

  7. Place in the oven and leave to bake for between 50 and 60 minutes. If you've included mix-ins, bake for 60 minutes, or 55 minutes if you have not. You will know it is ready once an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Leave it to cool for about 10 minutes before slicing. Enjoy, my dear honey bee!






19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page